CookingPalooza and Giving Thanks and But NOT Transfats!

Cornbread for the stuffing is baked and is cooling; the celery, mushrooms, and onions still to be cut and sauteed.  White bread to be cubed…

Pumpkin pies are baking (so I can ramble on the internets til my timer goes off…and no, I don’t have a red plastic pop up thingy…my non-BarkyCare dermatologist has done wonders).  Still to make a pumpkin cheese cake.

Ten pounds of potatoes are taunting me (yes ten pounds); so are the sweet potatoes (and don’t fret if you are reading this…I have ‘pretested’ the marshmallows…they seem fresh…but will have to do further research later.  That is the type of concerned hostess I am).  Green beans, corn, and their respective accompaniments are at the ready.  I didn’t even forget cranberry sauce, and the nice folks at Heinz are providing the turkey gravy (yes..jarred gravy…I don’t make edible gravy…I make a paste that Hobby Lobby could sell).  As I am an HONEST contrarian, I bought the dinners rolls too…don’t tell the ‘Food Police’ (and I will deny it and say my page was hacked…) but the turkey is thawing on the kitchen counter (shudders).

I am so thankful for the opportunity to ‘do’ this meal and especially thankful for all who will be here to enjoy.  In our family gathering we have Celiacs, Diabetics, and a DH whose heart attack this past summer now has to be remembered with low sodium; no cholesterol;  absent transfats cooking.  Add in the gluten free; low carbs and sugars; and one with a shellfish allergy…well…I am just glad to say, ‘pass the Promise margarine and ‘butter up’ this styrofoamy thingy we are calling a roll… I am just so happy that you are all HERE.’

From my group of nutritionally challenged Contrarians to your Familia…G-d Bless and Happy Thanksgiving!!!  And when you get a chance…quality test your marshmallows!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. integrity1st
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 21:31:59

    Here’s to wishing you a warm and wonderful Thanksgiving with the blessings of family and friends.

    (sounds like it can’t go wrong with what you’re whipping up – Hostess with the mostess)

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING

    Reply

Leave a Reply

