Pennsylvania Party Poopers…

Because I guess test scores in the Keystone State are SOOOOO high; with all of our kiddos reading and testing at near MENSA levels, the powers that be in the PA Department of Education will be voting on legislating school birthday party snacks.

Yep. You read that right. Sugary snacks for little ones WILL BE OFFICIALLY limited to one collective (gee, where does that word come from) party per month; per class.

http://www.thepittsburghchannel.com/education/25670015/detail.html

Now I have FIVE kids; I have baked tens of dozens of birthday cookies; baggied individually decorated brownies (what I can’t do with mini M&Ms!) and once even baked TWO different batches of cupcakes (decorated as Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles–FruitRoll Ups make for excellent ‘mask’ material–Martha Stewart has nothing on me!) for a pre-school celebration (the first party date being snow dayed out and the cupcakes were remade for the new date–who needed sleep!). What amazes me, is that the former Ninja Turtle fan is now 26 (I was five when I had him…it was in all the newspapers, YOU obviously missed it) and HE still remembers the cupcakes; the decorarations; and the effort mom made to make him happy. That means the world to me.

I hate that the Nanny State(s)–as I am sure PA will NOT be alone in the fawning application of the Michelle Obama foodie edict–is taking those little, sugary memory moments away.

Now, my youngest is 13…and birthdays are NOT celebrated in middle schools…but if I still had a little one, well I would go all Little Debbie Jihadi on this…

Ululululululul…Swiss Cakes Rolls!!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maryohsocontrary
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 02:53:31

    Update!!! Guess who is visiting a Bucks County elementary school tomorrow? And is Tweeting about Nanny Statism, laissez-faire government, and cookies tonight? Why our next President, Sarah Palin:

    http://blogs.abcnews.com/thenote/2010/11/sarah-palin-tackles-school-nutrition-debate-with-cookies.html

    And she this all without a teleprompter:)

    Reply

  2. Pie in the Sky
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 03:46:09

    You are off to an amazing start, Mary! I laugh every time I read your posts, and this blog is going to be amazing. Do you think Sarah could have read your post this morning? I bet she did. Post a photo of the ninja turtle cupcakes! I have a 27 year old son so I remember those turtles quite well, and all their plastic accoutrements.

    Reply

  3. WaltzingMtilda
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 04:48:40

    I am SOOO glad you commented about this on HB. Just heard about this BS on the radio today and I was going to comment on it myself.

    Our elementary started pushing this last year with a “guideline” for healthy treats for BD parties. It was suggested that we not send in cupcakes, munchkins, brownies etc. Pretzel trays were okay or you could contract the school cafeteria to provide fruit trays or some such crap.

    Well, on DD’s b-day last year I told her all about the school’s “suggestions”. She was adamant that I get Munchkins anyway, and this is a kid who does NOT like to buck what she perceives as school rules.

    I am ashamed to admit that I caved. I was walking into the Dunkin Donuts and I panicked over the sign on the door that said all of their products had come into contact with peanut oil. I drove over to the pretzel place and when I was dropping off the tray of shame at school, I saw the counter laden with store bought cupcakes and YES, Munchkins for other kids celebrations. So here’s my poor kid, finally willing to make a stand at what I have taught her since birth is an encroaching nanny state, stuck with frigging pretzels. In my defense I did make sure there was cheez dip.

    Needless to say I’ve learned a lesson. I told Em about this PA Board of Education plan tonight on our way to the library and her assessment was “That is so stupid!”
    I made sure to emphasize your same point…that “collective” BS.

    I will be contacting my legislators and trying to rally other parents over this.

    Reply

  4. Integrity1st
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 03:48:28

    On my son’s 18th I brought in, (with the teacher’s permission) cupcakes, pink gingerale, hats, blowers, etc. Yes he was a little embarrassed, but I wouldn’t have done it if I didn’t know how comfortable he was in his environment, and the rest of the kids LOVED it.

    So I guess we’ll be getting in trouble no matter how old our kids get = 0

    Reply

Leave a Reply

