The Summer of My DisConnect…

It wasn’t planned.

It isn’t some grand sociology type quest (can she live without the Internet?)…no…it was the perfect storm (ha…if you ONLY KNEW)…of hail damaged roof and siding; coupled with failing health (DH’s) and major and minor appliances (we are still without a microwave–I am just sooo very ‘retro’). Toss in (for good measure) one newly driver’s licensed teenage son; another son having summer college course work (to get enough credits to take another semester of college course to get his degree. Putting on my NCAA officially licensed foil cap, transferring from one college to another is a nefarious plot by educators, to keep their ‘own’ liberal arts majors employed. Who knew College Writing would be ‘unacceptable’ as a transfer credit…do invididual colleges really write that differently???)…but I digress.

The too expensive to replace the battery in the three year old laptop (it only works plugged in) over heats with a wonky, clicky fan (that is also too expensive to replace)…so…

I spent the summer cyberly silenced.

I can’read’ blogs and news on my phone, but in true Contrarian karma patterns, my TrackBall doesn’t track…so posting from my phone didn’t workout. Nothing like typing a couple hundred words on tiny BlackBerry keys only to NOT have the cursor be moveable to ‘post.’

Laptop is kept ‘off’ and only turned on when NEEDED (school work or bill paying). My interweb rants rate low on the familiar totem pole. We hope to have a new (at least to us) computer of some sort soon…but…I can’t promise anything. My refridgerator is eyeing me suspiciously…

I actually I’m blogging this from HANDWRITTEN notes…so I can type fast and beat the battery heat up. I want to explain my absence before I go onto my next post…

The Republican ‘field.’

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MRM
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 00:47:58

    You have been missed!!!

    Reply

  2. Auntie Lib
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 01:16:46

    Very missed! Glad to know you’ve been hanging in – even if we haven’t heard from you in so long. Hope DH is doing better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

